Martial Arts

8-ball

Hi guys, Well I just seen a post and have been asked what I do, Im a 1st dan Black Blet in Kuk Sool Won.

I have been training for 5 years now, into my 6th year and on Sunday 19th November I first time tested for my 2nd dan.

Any of you guys herd of it.

Any of you guys do it.

If not what do you do and how far are you.

The idea of the belt system is one away of rank, but most of all to show what you know. A begininer knows very little so he/she is give a white belt, when they become black belt he/she knows a lot (more than he was a white belt.)

Kuk Sool Won is a systematic study of all of the traditional fighting arts, which together comprise the martial arts history of Korea. As such, Kuk Sool Won is extremely well organized and seeks to integrate and explore all aspects of the traditional Korean martial arts.

As a martial arts system, Kuk Sool Won covers the entire spectrum of established Asian fighting arts and body conditioning techniques, as well as mental development and traditional weapons training. The following list includes some, but by no means all, of the elements of Kuk Sool Won.

The history of Korean martial arts is as old as the land itself and can be traced as far back as the prehistoric era, where primitive weapons made of wood and stone were used for hunting and fighting. As early as 2707 BC, the Korean warlord Chi-Woo, also known as Jaoji, reigned as the ¡°god of war¡± in what is now Mainland China.

Since then, the majority of Koreans migrated and settled in the region of the Korean Peninsula, where there have been more than a thousand recorded instances of foreign invasions. Consequently, the Korean people developed unique martial arts and military strategies in order to defend themselves and their territory.

Most of these Korean martial arts fall into three main groups or branches, namely tribal, Buddhist, and royal court martial arts.

The development of each of these three branches is briefly described below: