Thinking of building a computer

azn

I'm a first time PC builder and I'm interested in building a gaming PC that will cost me $1000 or under that will at least run GTAIV, but not something extreme that will run Crysis. So today I came up with this:

(I can change it around a little, this is day 1)

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86GHz

Motherboard: EVGA nForce 750i SLI FTW Motherboard

RAM: Kingston 1024MB PC5400 DDR2 667MHz Memory x2

Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB Hard Drive

Case: Ultra X-Blaster

PSU: OCZ GameXStream 850W

The CPU and Motherboard are Socket 775, has 4 memory slots for up to 4GB DDR2 RAM

For the sound card, I might just use the on board sound that comes with the Motherboard

The problem I have right now is the price. I calculated some estimated costs according to some websites that stocked the parts and it went well over $1200..

I was wondering if anyone could help me and bring the cost down, thanks :)

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm a first time PC builder and I'm interested in building a gaming PC that will cost me $1000 or under that will at least run GTAIV, but not something extreme that will run Crysis. So today I came up with this:

(I can change it around a little, this is day 1)

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86GHz

Motherboard: EVGA nForce 750i SLI FTW Motherboard

RAM: Kingston 1024MB PC5400 DDR2 667MHz Memory x2

Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB Hard Drive

Case: Ultra X-Blaster

PSU: OCZ GameXStream 850W

The CPU and Motherboard are Socket 775, has 4 memory slots for up to 4GB DDR2 RAM

For the sound card, I might just use the on board sound that comes with the Motherboard

The problem I have right now is the price. I calculated some estimated costs according to some websites that stocked the parts and it went well over $1200..